Bankruptcy is a legal way to get rid of some or all of your debt.

There are 2 kinds of bankruptcy:

  • Chapter 7, and
  • Chapter 13

Chapter 7 lets you get rid of any debt you cannot pay. Chapter 13 lets you set up a payment plan so you can pay your debt over time.  When you finish the bankruptcy process, you no longer owe money to the creditors you listed on your bankruptcy papers. They are not allowed to contact you or collect money from you.

Read More About Bankruptcy
The links below take you to information created by legal aid agencies and social services providers in our state:

Bankruptcy Courts in Tennessee
There are 3 bankruptcy courts in Tennessee. Each court has its own website with forms and information about filing for bankruptcy at that court: